Insight
into Mars
Mars InSight Mission

InSight – NASA mission to explore terrestrial planets
Although Mars is the focus of the InSight mission, it is actually about far more than exploring the Red Planet. Rather, the scientists want to contribute to research on terrestrial planets in general. In this case, terrestrial means a rocky planet consisting of an iron core, a rock mantle and a chemically differentiated crust. Mars is an ideal mission destination for this purpose, as it has shown precisely the correct degree of activity throughout its history. Firstly, it is large enough to have developed processes such as volcanism and tectonics but secondly, it is sufficiently small to preserve traces of this activity over billions of years.
These factors prompted NASA to select InSight for a mission to Mars as part of its Discovery Program.
InSight lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base on the Pacific coast of California at 05:05 local time on 5 May 2018, on board an Atlas V-401 launcher. (**). The InSight lander touched down on the surface of Mars on 26 November 2018, after a six-month journey through space..

InSight is the first mission to focus on a geophysical investigation of the Solar System. The instruments it carries are unusual for planetary research – a seismometer and a heat flow probe. The seismometer (**) – that was built by the Institut de Physique de Globe de Paris (IPGP) in collaboration with Imperial College London, ETH Zürich and the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research – will determine the inner structure of the planet and the size of its core. In contrast, the heat flow probe, which was developed under the leadership of the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin with the DLR Institute of Space Systems in Bremen and the Space Research Centre (Centrum Badań Kosmicznych; CBK) in Warsaw, will determine the temperature distribution in the planet’s interior. This will enable conclusions to be drawn regarding the chemical composition and activity of Mars. Direct measurements of these fundamental planetary parameters will be possible for the first time. Until now, they have only been inferred indirectly by means of gravitational field measurements.

In order to determine the heat flux of a planet, the temperature gradient in the subsurface must be measured.
In 1972, the astronauts on the Apollo 17 mission used percussion drills for this purpose, drilling boreholes up to three metres deep into the surface of the Moon. The disturbing influences of the Martian atmosphere mean that this depth is not sufficient for InSight. This is why the Heat Flow and Physical Properties Package (HP³) is designed to deliver temperature sensors to a depth of up to five metres – no easy task. To do this, HP³ uses an electromechanical ‘Mole’ that consists of a mechanical impact mechanism with which it drives the sensors into the ground in millimetre increments.

     
Radiometer   (*) In addition, HP³ is fitted with a radiometer that monitors the surface temperature at the landing site to support the heat flow measurements. The DLR scientists will then derive the planetary heat flow from the surface temperature data, as well as the temperatures in the subsurface.
The radiometer measures the infrared radiation from two areas on the surface that are at different distances from the lander (Field of View [FoV] 1 and 2 in image to the left, modified from https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs11214-018-0531-4) in order to detect the temperature disturbances caused by the lander itself.
For technical reasons, the radiometer must be switched off from time to time, so the time axis of the soil temperature graphs shown above is irregular.
     

InSight is already the twelfth mission in the NASA Discovery Program, which focuses on cost-efficient projects with a comparatively low budget of around 500 million dollars. The hallmark of the Discovery missions is their strong focus on specific scientific questions. The Principal Investigator for the mission is Bruce Banerdt from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), one of the most renowned Mars researchers in the USA. In addition to DLR, the French space agency CNES is also participating in the mission.

 

InSight mission in images (Credit: NASA/JPL)
sol213
 
sol92
 
sol81
 
71
 
10
 
0


[ DLR InSight ], [ DLR MUSC ], [ NASA ], [ JPL ], [ CNES ], [Imprint], [Privacy], ** Audio source: NASA/JPL

Tiefblick unter
den Mars
Marsmission InSight
HP³/aktuelle Tiefe:
0,00 m
00:00:00 / 00.00.0000
Missionsdaten im Dezember 2018
Beginn des Experiments: Januar 2019
Das Sonnensystem am 15.12.2018 in kartesischen Koordinaten
(3D Rotation), Zoom: innere Planeten äußere Planeten

InSight: NASA-Mission zur Erforschung terrestrischer Planeten
Auch wenn der Mars das Ziel der InSight-Mission ist, so geht es doch im Kern nicht nur um die Erforschung des Roten Planeten. Vielmehr wollen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler einen Beitrag zur Erforschung terrestrischer Planeten im Allgemeinen leisten. Terrestrisch bedeutet in diesem Fall, dass es sich um Gesteinsplaneten handelt, die aus einem Eisenkern, einem Gesteinsmantel sowie einer chemisch differenzierten Kruste aufgebaut sind. Der Mars ist hierfür ein ideales Missionsziel, da er in seiner Geschichte genau das richtige Maß an Aktivität entwickelt hat: Einerseits ist er groß genug, um Prozesse wie Vulkanismus und Tektonik zu entwickeln, andererseits ist er klein genug, um die Spuren dieser Aktivität über Jahrmilliarden zu erhalten.
Aus diesem Grund hat sich die NASA im Rahmen ihres Discovery-Programms entschieden, InSight für einen Start zum Mars auszuwählen. Schließlich hob InSight am 5. Mai 2018 um 5.05 Uhr Ortszeit an Bord einer Atlas-Trägerrakete von der Vandenberg Air Force Base an der kalifornischen Pazifkküste ab. (*). Nach einer halbjährigen Reise durch das All - hat der InSight Lander am 26. November 2018 auf dem Mars aufgesetzt.

InSight ist die erste Mission, die den Fokus auf die geophysikalische Erkundung des Sonnensystems legt. Ihre Instrumentierung ist für die Planetenforschung ungewöhnlich: Ein Seismometer sowie eine Wärmeflusssonde. Das Seismometer (*), das vom Institut de Physique de Globe de Paris (IPGP) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Imperial College London, der ETH Zürich sowie dem Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung gebaut wird, soll die innere Struktur des Planeten sowie die Größe seines Kerns bestimmen. Die Wärmeflusssonde (*), die unter Leitung des DLR-Instituts für Planetenforschung in Berlin mit dem DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme in Bremen und mit dem Institut für Weltraumforschung in Warschau gebaut wird, soll hingegen die Temperaturverteilung im Inneren des Planeten bestimmen, woraus Rückschlüsse auf die chemische Zusammensetzung und Aktivität des Planeten gezogen werden können. Somit werden zum ersten Mal direkte Messungen dieser fundamentalen planetaren Kenngrößen möglich, die bisher nur aus Gravitationsfeldmessungen indirekt abgeleitet werden konnten.

Um den Wärmefluss eines Planeten bestimmen zu können, muss der Temperaturgradient im Untergrund gemessen werden. Die Astronauten von Apollo 17 nutzten 1972 hierfür Schlagbohrer, mit denen Bohrlöcher von bis zu drei Meter Tiefe in den Mond-Grund getrieben wurden. Aufgrund des störenden Einflusses der Marsatmosphäre ist diese Tiefe für InSight nicht ausreichend. Deshalb soll das vom DLR gebaute Heat Flow and Physical Properties Package – kurz HP³ – Temperatursensoren bis in eine Tiefe von fünf Metern bringen – keine leichte Aufgabe. HP³ nutzt hierfür einen sogenannten elektromechanischen „Maulwurf“, der aus einem mechanischen Schlagmechanismus besteht und die Sensoren in Millimeterschritten in den Boden treibt.
Zur Unterstützung der Wärmeflussmessung besitzt HP³ des Weiteren ein Radiometer, das die Oberflächentemperatur an der Landestelle überwacht. Aus den Daten der Oberflächentemperatur sowie den Temperaturen im Untergrund werden die DLR-Wissenschaftler dann den planetaren Wärmefluss ableiten.
Der Betrieb von HP³ wird im Kontrollzentrum MUSC des DLR in Köln koordiniert werden.

InSight ist bereits die zwölfte Mission im Discovery-Programm der NASA, das sich durch kosteneffiziente Projekte mit einem vergleichsweise geringen Budget von rund 500 Millionen US-Dollar auszeichnet. Markenzeichen der Discovery-Missionen ist die starke Fokussierung auf bestimmte wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen. Geleitet wird die Mission von Dr. Bruce Banerdt vom Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), einem der renommiertesten amerikanischen Marsforscher. Neben dem DLR ist auch die französische Weltraumorganisation CNES beteiligt.

 

* Audio-Quelle: NASA/JPL


[ Virtueller-Kontrollraum ], [ DLR ], [ NASA ], [ JPL ], [ CNES ], [Impressum], [Datenschutz]